Welcome to the Molinari Quartet Quebec Video Library

This site is intended to be a place of discovery and a source of information on works for string quartets by Quebec composers. In the months and years ahead, recordings will be added regularly to make this site a lively and vibrant venue.

The video library

About the Molinari Quartet's Video Library

Founded in 1997, the Molinari Quartet (MQ) dedicates itself to the performance of string quartets from the 20th and 21st centuries. It has also given itself the mandate to play and promote Quebec and Canadian music for string quartet. Over the years, the MQ has premiered no less than 71 works by Quebec composers, half of which were commissions. The Quebec repertoire has grown to be substantial and is constantly expanding, as a result of the many new works being commissioned each year. The MQ now wishes to make these magnificent works available through this video library.

This site is intended to be a place of discovery and a source of information on works for string quartets by Quebec composers. In the months and years ahead, recordings will be added regularly to make this site a lively and vibrant venue.

The works listed and available on this site have mostly been commissioned and created by the Molinari Quartet. The video recordings featured here were recorded as live performances, that is to say without any cuts or editing.

The site provides a wealth of information about the works, including program notes, brief biographies of the composers, as well as links to their own sites, if any.

In order to promote the videos to the largest audience, we have made their screening free of charge. We want this digital archive to be a working tool, facilitating research and archiving. If you enjoyed the videos, you are welcome to support us by making a donation. Whatever the amount of your contribution, we will be most grateful!

The Molinari Quartet named itself after the famous Quebec painter Guido Molinari (1933-2004). The MQ chose the name Molinari because the artist was at the vanguard of visual arts in Quebec for more than forty years, as is the Quartet in the musical field. He was a model for musicians and for our artistic director, who befriended him. We chose to showcase Molinari's works in parallel with the string quartets. In this manner, each recorded string quartet is paired to a work by the painter Molinari. This work is displayed behind the musicians during the recording and information about it is provided, along with information pertaining to the string quartet. We therefore invite you to discover this great Quebec artist while discovering Quebec quartets.

The recordings take place at the Guido Molinari Foundation, now located in Guido Molinari’s former Montreal studio. We extend our heartfelt thanks to the Guido Molinari Foundation (lien) and its Director Margarida Mafra for their great generosity in providing us access to the Foundation and to Guido Molinari’s paintings. Olga Ranzenhofer, translation : Marc Hyland

Quatuor Molinari 2018 photo

About Molinari Quartet

Quartet in residence at the Conservatoire de musique de Montréal

Olga Ranzenhofer – violin, artistic director
Antoine Bareil – violin
Frédéric Lambert – viola
Pierre-Alain Bouvrette – cello

Internationally acclaimed by the public and the critics since its foundation in 1997, the Molinari Quartet has given itself the mandate to perform works from the 20th and 21st centuries repertoire for string quartet, to commission new works and to initiate discussions between musicians, artists and the public.

Recipient of nineteen Opus Prizes awarded by the Quebec Music Council to underline musical excellence on the Quebec concert stage, the Molinari Quartet as been described by the critics as an “essential” and “prodigious” ensemble, even “Canada’s answer to the Kronos or Arditti Quartet”. The Molinari Quartet has established itself as one of Canada’s leading string quartets.

In addition to many Canadian works, including the 13 quartets by R. Murray Schafer, the Molinari Quartet’s repertoire includes among others, quartets by Bartók, Berg, Britten, Corigliano, Debussy, Dutilleux, Dun, Glass, Gubaidulina, Kancheli, Kurtág, Ligeti, Lutoslawski, Martinu, Penderecki, Prokofiev, Ravel, Rihm, Schnittke, Schoenberg, Shostakovich and Webern.

The Molinari Quartet has commissioned Canadian composer R. Murray Schafer’s 7th and 12th quartets and has also premiered his 8th, 10th and 13th Quartets, written also for the Molinari. The Quartet has commissioned and premiered several works from Canadian composers such as Otto Joachim, Nicolas Gilbert, Michel Gonneville, Marc Hyland, Éric Champagne, Michael Matthews, Kelly-Marie Murphy, Pat Carrabre, John Rea, Denis Gougeon, Laurie Radford and Ana Sokolovic as well as giving North-American premieres of many works.

Quatuor Molinari Salle Bourgie

The Molinari Quartet was heard twice as soloist with the Montreal Symphony Orchestra under Charles Dutoit and in April 2018 premiered the Concerto for string quartet and orchestra by Samy Moussa with the Orchestre Métropolitain of Montréal under the direction of Nicholas Carter. The Quartet has been invited to perform in numerous concert series and festivals including IJsbreker (Amsterdam), Présences (Radio-France, Paris), Festival Octobre en Normandie (France), Les détours de Babel festival (Grenoble, France), IXth International Festival of contemporary music Musica Nueva (Mexico), Brand-New Music in Katowice (Poland), Akademia Muzyczna Karola Szymanowsky (Poland), Musiques au présent (Québec), Festival Vancouver, Vancouver New Music, Banff Centre, Music Toronto, New Music Concerts (Toronto), Toronto Summer Music Festival and Academy, Ottawa International Chamber Music Festival, National Arts centre of Ottawa, New Music Edmonton, Tonus Vivus (Edmonton), Neworks Calgary, Orford Festival, Montréal / Nouvelles Musiques, Musimars (Montréal), Festival Domaine Forget, Festival international de Lanaudière, GroundSwell (Winnipeg), Arte Musica series (Montréal), Five-Penny concert series (Sudbury), Kitchener-Waterloo Chamber Music Society, etc. In November 2013, the Molinari Quartet performed a 7 concert tour in China including concerts in Shanghai and Beijing and in November 2016, it toured Poland and Armenia.

The Molinari Quartet is the only quartet to have all of R. Murray Schafer’s thirteen string quartets in its repertoire. Its recordings on the ATMA Classique label (complete quartets by Schafer, Schnittke, Kurtág, Gubaidulina) have received international critical acclaim including two Editors’ Choices by Gramophone magazine and rave revues from, among others, The Strad, Fanfare, Diapason, etc. Its recording of the complete Kurtág quartets has received a Diapason d’Or in December 2016 and the Echo Klassik award for 20th and 21st century chamber music in July 2017.

Launched in October 2001, the Molinari Quartet International Competition for Composition has had an enormous success. Over its six editions it has received over 850 new quartet scores from 69 countries.

logo Quatuor Molinari
Website : https://quatuormolinari.qc.ca/en/
Guido Molinari

About Guido Molinari

Guido Molinari was born in Montreal in 1933. The son of a musician, he developed an interest in the arts at a very early age. At the age of fifteen, he took his first art classes at the École des Beaux-Arts in Montreal (1948-50) under the direction of Marian Scott and Gordon Weber, and then went on to study at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts’ School of Art and Design (1951).

Molinari founded and headed the Galerie l'Actuelle in 1955, the first gallery in Canada to be devoted exclusively to abstract art. During this period, Guido Molinari was heavily influenced by the works of Mondrian and Malevich, and became involved with the Automatistes. The fifties brought him closer to the Plasticiens, a group interested in simple geometric forms. He participated in the Montreal Place des artistes exhibit, exhibiting three paintings, a few poems, and his first sculpture. Molinari’s works were also included in the Espace 55 exhibit, organized by Gilles Corbeil at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts in April 1955. The following year, he founded the Non-figurative Artists Association. He taught at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts’ School of Art and Drawing from 1963 to 1965. From 1970 to 1997, he taught painting and drawing at Montreal’s Concordia University.

Molinari represented Canada at the Second Coltejer Biennial in Medellin, Colombia. In 1970, he participated in the third Salon international des Galeries pilotes in Lausanne, Switzerland and, on December 12, 1970, was one of eight Canadian artists to participate in the Canadian exhibit at the Tel-Aviv Museum. Molinari presented his series of paintings entitled Oppositions Triangulaires at the Canadian Cultural Centre in November 1974, as well as at the London Canada House Gallery in February 1975. In 1976-77, the National Gallery of Canada organized a retrospective of his works (1951-1973), which then toured to Toronto, Vancouver, and Montreal. Molinari participated in the Symposium des peintres du Québec in La Rochelle, France in 1980. A retrospective of his drawings was organized in 1981 by the Agnes-Etherington Art Gallery at Queen’s University (Ontario) and was also displayed at Montreal’s Musée d’art contemporain in 1982. This same museum put on an important retrospective of Molinari’s works in the summer of 1995 that later toured to Guelph, Regina and Halifax. In 1998, the Musée de Grenoble invited Molinari to mount a major retrospective, which was also exhibited at the Musée de Château-Villeneuve in Vence, France. In October 1998, a series of dynamic recent works (the checkerboards and homages to Mondrian) was displayed at Toronto’s Wynick Tuck Gallery, and the exhibit was remounted at Montreal’s Galerie Eric Devlin in May 1999. Since the foundation of the Quatuor Molinari in 1997 and until just before is passing in 2004, Guido Molinari has opened his studio to the public three times a year for the Dialogues à l'Atelier, which bring together the painters, composers and musicians of Montreal’s contemporary art scene.

Numerous and important honours have been bestowed upon Guido Molinari: he has received the Jessie Dow Award at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts’ Spring Salon (1962), the Royal Canadian Academy of the Arts Award (1965), the Guggenheim Foundation Scholarship (1967), and the David E. Bright Foundation Award at the 1968 Venice Biennial. From 1967 to 1968, he was Vice-President of the Association des artistes professionnels du Québec and member of the Société internationale d'esthétique expérimentale. Molinari was elected member of the Royal Canadian Academy of the Arts in 1964 and received the Government of Quebec’s Paul-Emile Borduas prize in 1980.

Also a writer and a poet, Molinari’s writings on art were published by the National Gallery of Canada in 1976. The year 1979 saw the publication of Nul Mot, a volume of Molinari’s poems and etchings. In April 1999, he published a second collection of poems entitled Ça.

Jean Portugais, based on documents provided by Claire Molinari.

LOGO fondation Molinari
Website : https://fondationguidomolinari.org/en/

Links and partners

Centre de musique canadienne au Québec : https://cmcquebec.ca
Centre de musique canadienne : https://cmccanada.org/fr/
Circuit, musiques contemporaines : https://revuecircuit.ca/apropos/qui/
Conseil québécois de la musique : http://www.cqm.qc.ca/fr/accueil.aspx?sortcode=1
SQRM (Société québécoise de recherche en musique) : https://www.sqrm.qc.ca/mission/
RCMN (Réseau canadien de musique nouvelle) https://www.reseaumusiquesnouvelles.ca/a-propos/organisation/
 

Contact

Bienvenue sur la Vidéothèque québécoise Quatuor Molinari

Ce site se veut un lieu de découvertes et de sources d’informations sur les œuvres pour quatuors à cordes de compositeurs québécois. Au cours des mois et années à venir, des enregistrements seront ajoutés régulièrement pour faire de ce site un lieu vivant et dynamique.

La vidéothèque

À propos de la Vidéothèque Québécoise du Quatuor Molinari

Fondé en 1997, le Quatuor Molinari (QM) joue les œuvres pour quatuor à cordes des 20e et 21e siècles. Il s’est aussi donné le mandat de jouer et de diffuser la musique québécoise et canadienne pour quatuor à cordes. Au cours des années, le QM a créé pas moins de 71 oeuvres québécoises, dont la moitié étaient des commandes. Le répertoire québécois est d’une grande richesse et est sans cesse en développement grâce aux nombreuses nouvelles œuvres commandées chaque année. Le QM souhaite rendre disponible à tous ces magnifiques œuvres par le biais de cette vidéothèque.

Cette vidéothèque n’est pas un site de diffusion comme les autres. C’est un outil de travail, d’exploration et de découverte grâce aux vidéos mais aussi à l’information qui est associée à chaque oeuvre enregistrée. C’est un des aspects innovants de cette vidéothèque qui recèle d’importantes œuvres qui doivent être reconnues et disponibles à tous.

Les œuvres répertoriées et enregistrées sur ce site ont en large partie été commandées et créées par le Quatuor Molinari. Ces enregistrements vidéos ont été faits en version concert, c’est-à-dire sans coupure ni montage.

Vous trouverez sur ce site toutes les informations sur les oeuvres, notamment les notes de programmes, les biographies des compositeurs et les liens vers leur site, s’il y a lieu.

Le visionnement des vidéos se veut gratuit car nous souhaitons faire connaître le plus possible les œuvres présentées ici. Nous voulons que ce site devienne un outil de travail, de recherche et d’archive. Si vous avez apprécié les vidéos, vous êtes bien sûr invités à nous soutenir en nous faisons un don. Quelque que soit le montant, nous vous serons très reconnaissants!

Le Quatuor Molinari tire son nom du célèbre peintre québécois, Guido Molinari (1933-2004). Le QM a choisi de prendre le nom Molinari, car l’artiste était à l’avant-garde de l’art visuel au Québec pendant plus de quarante ans, tout comme l’est le Quatuor. Il a été un modèle pour les musiciens et pour la directrice artistique qui a bien connu le peintre. Nous avons choisi de faire découvrir les œuvres de Molinari en parallèle aux quatuors à cordes. À chaque quatuor à cordes enregistré, correspond une œuvre du peintre Molinari. Cette œuvre est accrochée derrière les musiciens lors de l’enregistrement et vous trouverez les informations la concernant avec les informations sur le quatuor à cordes. Nous vous invitons donc à découvrir ce grand artiste québécois tout en découvrant des quatuors québécois.

Les enregistrements se tiennent à la Fondation Molinari, maintenant installée dans l’ancien atelier du peintre Guido Molinari à Montréal. Nous remercions chaleureusement la Fondation Molinari (mettre lien) et sa directrice Margarida Mafra pour leur grande générosité en nous permettant l’accès à la Fondation et aux toiles de Guido Molinari.

Quatuor Molinari 2018 photo

À propos du Quatuor Molinari

Quatuor en résidence au Conservatoire de musique de Montréal

Olga Ranzenhofer, violon, directrice artistique
Antoine Bareil, violon
Frédéric Lambert, alto
Pierre-Alain Bouvrette, violoncelle

Acclamé par le public et par la critique musicale internationale depuis sa fondation en 1997, le Quatuor Molinari se consacre au riche répertoire pour quatuor à cordes des 20e et 21e siècles, commande des oeuvres nouvelles aux compositeurs et initie des rencontres entre les musiciens, les artistes et le public.

Récipiendaire de vingt Prix Opus décernés par le Conseil québécois de la musique pour souligner l’excellence de la musique de concert, le Quatuor Molinari est qualifié par la critique canadienne d’ensemble « essentiel » et « prodigieux », voire de « pendant canadien aux quatuors Kronos et Arditti ». Le Quatuor Molinari s’est imposé comme l’un des meilleurs quatuors au Canada.

Le nom de Molinari traduit bien l’engagement de ces musiciens à interpréter le répertoire de notre temps, car le peintre Guido Molinari a été un membre de l’avant-garde picturale canadienne pendant plus d’une quarantaine d’années. En plus de nombreuses oeuvres canadiennes dont l’intégrale des 13 quatuors de R.M. Schafer, le répertoire du Quatuor Molinari comprend entre autres, des oeuvres de Bartók, Berg, Britten, Chostakovitch, Debussy, Dutilleux, Glass, Gubaidulina, Kurtág, Ligeti, Lutoslawski, Martinu, Penderecki, Proko­fiev, Ravel,  Rihm, Scelsi, Schnittke, Schoenberg, Webern et Zorn.

Le Quatuor Molinari a été soliste avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal sous la direction de Charles Dutoit à deux reprises et en avril 2018, il était soliste avec l’Orchestre Métropolitain de Montréal sous la direction du chef Nicholas Carter dans la création du Concerto pour quatuor à cordes de Samy Moussa.

Quatuor Molinari Salle Bourgie

Il a été invité à de nombreux festivals et sociétés de concerts dont IJsbreker (Amsterdam), Festival Présences (Radio-France, Paris), Festival Octobre en Normandie (France), festival Les détours de Babel (Grenoble, France), IXe Festival International de musique contemporaine Musica Nueva (Mexique), BUNT after BUNT (Belgrade, Serbie), Musik21 Niedersachsen (Hannovre, Allemagne),  Brand-New Music de Katowice (Pologne), Akademia Muzyczna Karola Szymanowsky (Pologne), Festival Vancouver, Vancouver New Music, Music on Main (Vancouver), Musiques au présent (Québec), Banff Centre, Music Toronto, New Music Concerts (Toronto), Toronto Summer Music Festival and Academy, Centre national des Arts d’Ottawa, Montréal/Nouvelles musiques, MusiMars, Festival du Domaine Forget, Festival international de Lanaudière, Festival international de jazz de Montréal, festival GroundSwell de Winnipeg, New Works Calgary, Tonus Vivus (Edmonton), Festival Orford, Festival international de musique de chambre d’Ottawa, Saskatoon Symphony Festival of New Music, Kitchener-Waterloo Chamber Music Society, Cordes du Futur (Ottawa), Five-Penny concert series (Sudbury), Aeolian Concerts de London et le Festival Orgue et couleurs. En 2013, il a fait une tournée de 7 concerts en Chine et en novembre 2016, il joue en Arménie et en Pologne. En novembre 2019, il se produit en Allemagne, en Serbie en Macédoine du Nord et en Grèce. Le Molinari a commandé les 7e et 12e quatuors à R. Murray Schafer et a aussi créé ses 8e, 10e et 13e quatuors qui ont été écrits également pour lui. Le Quatuor a commandé et créé de nombreuses œuvres de compositeurs canadiens tels Otto Joachim, Nicolas Gilbert, Michel Gonneville, Marc Hyland, Éric Champagne, Denis Gougeon, Analia Llugdar, Michael Matthews, Silvio Palmieri,  Laurie Radford, John Rea, David Scott, Ana Sokolovic et Kelly-Marie Murphy en plus d’assurer les premières nord-américaines de nombreuses oeuvres.

Les CDs du QM, sous étiquette ATMA, Classique reçoivent les éloges unanimes de la critique internationale entre autres dans les revues The Strad, Gramophone (2 fois Editor’s Choice) Diapason et Fanfare. L’intégrale des quatuors de György Kurtág, lancé en septembre 2016, a reçu un Diapason d’or en décembre 2016 de la prestigieuse revue musicale française éponyme. De plus, il reçoit le prestigieux prix allemand Echo Klassik en juillet 2017 pour ce même enregistrement. Le CD des quatuors de John Zorn du Quatuor Molinari, sorti en 2019, reçoit le Prix Opus de l’Album de l’année – Musiques moderne, contemporaine et est en nomination pour un Prix Juno en janvier 2020.

Créé en octobre 2001, le Concours international de composition du Quatuor Molinari connaît un immense succès avec la réception de plus de 850 partitions inédites venant de 69 pays lors des 7 premières éditions.

logo Quatuor Molinari
Site web : www.quatuormolinari.qc.ca
Guido Molinari

À propos de Guido Molinari

Guido Molinari est un des plus importants peintres canadiens de notre temps. Il est un des pionniers de l’art abstrait au Québec et au Canada. Son oeuvre, extrêmement riche et abondante, contient plusieurs centaines de toiles, des sculptures, des dessins et des poésies. Ses oeuvres se retrouvent dans les plus grands musées d’Amérique du Nord dont le Museum of Modern Art et le musée Guggenheim, à New York. Également théoricien de l’art et grand pédagogue de l’art contemporain, Molinari est au coeur de la vie culturelle montréalaise depuis bientôt près de cinquante ans.

Guido Molinari est né à Montréal en 1933. Fils d’un musicien, il développa très tôt un intérêt pour les arts. Dès l’âge de quinze ans, il suit ses premiers cours d’art à l’École des Beaux-Arts de Montréal (1948-50) sous la direction de Marian Scott et Gordon Weber puis à l’École des Arts et du Design du Musée des Beaux-Arts de Montréal (1951). Molinari fonde et dirige la Galerie l’Actuelle en 1955, première galerie au Canada à se consacrer exclusivement à l’art non-figuratif.  Durant cette période, Guido Molinari est fortement influencé par les travaux de Mondrian et Malevich et entre en relation avec les Automatistes. Les années 50 le rapproche des Plasticiens, groupe dont les intérêts sont portés sur les formes géométriques simples. Il participe à l’exposition Place des artistes à Montréal où il expose trois tableaux, des poèmes et sa première sculpture. On retrouve Molinari à l’exposition Espace 55, organisée par Gilles Corbeil, au Musée des Beaux-Arts de Montréal, en avril 1955. L’année suivante, il fonde l’Association des artistes non-figuratifs. Il enseigne à l’École d’art et de dessin du Musée des Beaux-Arts de Montréal de 1963 à 1965.  De 1970 à 1997, il enseigne la peinture et le dessin  à l’Université Concordia de Montréal.

Il représente le Canada à la seconde Biennale d’art de Coltejer à Medellin, en Colombie. En 1970, Molinari participe au 3ème Salon international des Galeries pilotes de Lausanne, en Suisse.  Le 12 décembre 1970, il est l’un des huit artistes canadiens à participer à l’exposition canadienne du Musée de Tel -Aviv. Molinari présente sa série de tableaux intitulés Oppositions Triangulaires au Centre culturel canadien en novembre 1974 ainsi qu’à la Canada House Gallery de Londres en février 1975. En 1976-77, le Musée des Beaux-Arts du Canada organise une exposition rétrospective de ses oeuvres (1951-1973) tour à tour présentée à Toronto, à Vancouver et à Montréal. En 1980, il participe au Symposium des peintres du Québec à La Rochelle, en France. Une rétrospective de ses dessins est organisée en 1981 par la Galerie d’art Agnès-Etherington de l’Université Queen (Ontario) et fut aussi montrée au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal en 1982. Une importante rétrospective des oeuvres de Molinari est présentée à ce même Musée à l’été de 1995. Cette exposition a ensuite été donnée à Guelph, à Régina et à Halifax. En 1998, Molinari fut convié par le Musée de Grenoble à présenter une grande rétrospective. Cette exposition fut aussi réalisée au Musée de Château-Villeneuve à Vence, en France. En octobre 1998, c’est une série de tableaux récents très dynamiques (les damiers, les hommages à Mondrian) qui est présentée à la galerie Wynick Tuck, de Toronto.  Cette exposition fut reprise à la Galerie Eric Devlin de Montréal, en mai 1999. Depuis la fondation du Quatuor Molinari en 1997 et jusqu’à peu avant sa mort en 2004, Guido Molinari reçoit trois fois l’an le public dans son atelier à l’occasion des Dialogues à l’Atelier réunissant des peintres, des compositeurs et des musiciens de l’art contemporain montréa­lais.

Les titres honorifiques de Guido Molinari sont nombreux et importants : il est récipiendaire du Prix Jessie Dow au Salon du Printemps du Musée des Beaux-Arts de Montréal (1962), Prix de l’Académie Royale du Canada (1965), Bourse de la Fondation Guggenheim (1967), Prix de la Fondation David E. Bright à la 34ème Biennale de Venise (1968). De 1967 à 1968, il est vice-président de l’Association des artistes professionnels du Québec et membre de la Société internationale d’esthétique expérimentale. Molinari est élu membre de l’Académie Royale Canadienne des Arts en 1964 et devient récipiendaire du prix Paul-Emille Borduas du Gouvernement du Québec en 1980.

Également écrivain et poète, ses écrits sur l’art sont publiés par la Galerie Nationale du Canada en 1976.  L’année 1979 voit l’édition d’un tome de ses poèmes et de ses eaux-fortes intitulé Nul Mot. Il a publié en avril 1999 un second recueil de poésies sous le titre « Ça ».

Jean Portugais, d’après les documents de Claire Molinari.

LOGO fondation Molinari
Site web : www.fondationguidomolinari.org

Liens et partenaires

Centre de musique canadienne au Québec : https://cmcquebec.ca
Centre de musique canadienne : https://cmccanada.org/fr/
Circuit, musiques contemporaines : https://revuecircuit.ca/apropos/qui/
Conseil québécois de la musique : http://www.cqm.qc.ca/fr/accueil.aspx?sortcode=1
SQRM (Société québécoise de recherche en musique) : https://www.sqrm.qc.ca/mission/
RCMN (Réseau canadien de musique nouvelle) https://www.reseaumusiquesnouvelles.ca/a-propos/organisation/
 

Contact